Marc Marquez is the 2014 MotoGP World Champion!



Marc Marquez has done it again, the little white 21 year old Spaniard is now the 2014 MotoGP World Champion! With this win, Marc Marquez has now been world champion 4 times, with twice clinching the premier class title. All he needed to do was finish second at Honda’s corporate-owned Motegi track, and that’s exactly what he did, pushing behind a resurgent Valentino Rossi to take the second peg on the podium. 

As records continue to be shattered, Marquez is now the youngest consecutive 2 time MotoGP world champion. Starting from the 4th place on the grid and getting a bad start were not enough from stopping him take home the golden helmet. He had a good fight with Rossi, and kept him behind rather comfortably, but never looked threatening enough to Lorenzo, who went ahead to win his second consecutive race of the season.

Having opened the season by winning the first 10 rounds, people had expected the show would be over really soon. But then a few mistakes on Marquez’s part, the fightback from Yamahas, and some bad luck saw him drop down on the podium through some races. But even then, an unassailable gap of 82 points was built by the whiz kid after Motegi, which secured his top spot on the championship grid.

With just 3 rounds left, the fight is on between Rossi, Lorenzo and Pedrosa for the second place in the championship. Rossi seems to be in fantastic form, and Lorenzo has made a strong comeback, we have to wait and see who gets to be the second best man! Check out below for complete list of Motegi race results.

Pos. Rider Team Bike KM/H Diff.
1 Jorge LORENZO Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 163.2 42’21.259
2 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team Honda 163.1 +1.638
3 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 163.0 +2.602
4 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team Honda 163.0 +3.157
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team Ducati 162.3 +14.353
6 Andrea IANNONE Pramac Racing Ducati 162.1 +16.653
7 Stefan BRADL LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 161.9 +19.531
8 Pol ESPARGARO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 161.9 +19.815
9 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 161.7 +23.575
10 Alvaro BAUTISTA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 160.9 +35.687
11 Aleix ESPARGARO NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 160.6 +40.668
12 Katsuyuki NAKASUGA YAMALUBE Racing with YSP Yamaha 160.0 +51.027
13 Hiroshi AOYAMA Drive M7 Aspar Honda 160.0 +51.093
14 Nicky HAYDEN Drive M7 Aspar Honda 159.7 +55.792
15 Hector BARBERA Avintia Racing Ducati 159.5 +59.089
16 Scott REDDING GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 159.4 +59.508
17 Alex DE ANGELIS NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 158.4 +1’16.547
18 Michael LAVERTY Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 157.7 +1’28.021
19 Mike DI MEGLIO Avintia Racing Avintia 157.6 +1’29.470
20 Broc PARKES Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 157.4 +1’33.253

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.